Upcoming Events

~Sunday, January 26 @8pm~
The Sunday Night Astronomy Show
Live broadcast on the Astronomy by the Bay YouTube channel.

~Saturday, February 1 @7pm~
Meeting of the Saint John Astronomy Club
Rockwood Park Interpretation Centre
All are welcome–no experience necessary.

~Saturday, February 8 @ 7pm~
Annual Moonlight Snowshoe Hike and Observing
Irving Nature Park, meet at Sheldon Point Barn


~ New Brunswick Star Party Calendar for 2020~

~June 19 – 20, 2020~
Kouchibouguac Spring StarFest
Kouchibouguac National Park

~July 17 – 18, 2020~
COW Mactaquac Star Party
(Camping & Observing Weekend) Mactaquac Provincial Park

~July 24 – 25, 2020~
Mount Carleton Star Party
Star Party near Site 44, Armstrong Campground
Mount Carleton Provincial Park

~August 21 – 22, 2020~ 
Fundy Park StarGaze, Fundy National Park
Also see RASC NB Fundy Park StarGaze

~September 18 -19, 2020~
Kouchibouguac Fall StarFest
Kouchibouguac National Park

Overview~ see Star Parties in New Brunswick
Note: always check the RASC NB Star Parties for updates and before heading out.


~Other events for 2020~

~Earth Hour~ March 28 at 20:30 (8:30pm)~

~Astronomy Week~ April 27 – May 3, 2020~

~International Astronomy Day~ May 2, 2020~

~Fall Astronomy Day~ September 26, 2020~

~International Observe the Moon Night~ September 26, 2020~


~Top 10 Sky Events for 2020~

from SkyNews.ca, Canada’s Magazine of Astronomy & Stargazing. All items listed below (except for the last two) are nicely viewed with binoculars.

Tuesday, February 18~  Occultation of Mars by the Moon

Wednesday, March 18~ Waning Crescent Moon Joins 3 Planets

Friday, April 3~ Venus Passes through the Pleiades

Thursday, May 21~ Mercury and Venus Meet

Friday, June 19~ Crescent Moon Occults Venus

Saturday, August 1~ Full Moon Meets Jupiter and Saturn

Saturday, September 5~ Waning Moon Meets Mars

Friday, October 2~ Venus Passes Close to Regulus

Tuesday, October 6~ Mars at its Largest and Highest since 2003

Monday, December 21~Jupiter & Saturn only 6 Arc Minutes Apart

Details of the above are in the January/February 2020 issue of SkyNews, and detailed throughout the year. SkyNews has called 2020 The Year of the Planets.

A bimonthly subscription to SkyNews is included with a RASC membership, along with the venerable Observer’s Handbook. Calendars, observing programs, merch, and other valuable information are also available.


You can also follow us on Facebook for up-to-date information on our upcoming activities.

Bringing Astronomy to Southern New Brunswick, Canada